CMDB / Configuration Management Database

i-doit

What is i-doit?

The i-doit application is an ITIL compliant platform for IT documentation which contains the know-how and experience of more than 15 years of consultancy and technology praxis in a high-profile project environment. In combination with SNAG-View and ((OTRS)) Community Edition this gives you a comprehensive, no-worries package which leaves (virtually) no wishes unfulfilled.

i-doit is more than a database of maintained objects. Links between the existing objects ensure its character as a CMDB. This means that full details of an object are available very quickly at a central location.

Partnership

The strategic partnership between Sector Nord AG and synetics GmbH has been sealed.

synetics GmbH is a specialist for planning, implementing and maintaining adaptive infrastructure solutions.
Since 2004, the company has focused on developing open source software and offers a corresponding portfolio of support and maintenance services.

The i-doit application is an ITIL-based platform for IT documentation which contains the know-how and experience of more than 15 years of consultancy and technology praxis in a high-profile project environment.

Documentation

When installed, i-doit comes with some common object types and matching properties. This means that you can immediately start populating your CMDB. Of course, you can create your own object types and properties.

Sample categories

IT infrastructure

Server, switches, routers, clients, printers, IP phone...

Software

Applications, operating systems...

Licenses

Single license, volume licenses...

Documents

Contracts, manuels, plans ...

Networks

IPv4, IPv6 ...

Virtual enviroments

VMware, servers ...

Complex IT structures

Cluster, databases, SAN ...

Buildings

Office buildings, workplaces, production facilities...

Screenshots

Dashboard
Rack view
CDMB-Explorer
Report

advantages of i-doit

Easy handling

Flexible and extensible

Web-based

Simple installation

Highly granular system of authorisations

Open Source

 

Our i-doit modules

Extended Workflow

With our "Extended Workflow" extension of the i-doit standard workflow module it is possible to document the success or failure of an assigned task. The standard merely documents "that something was done". Our extension ensures that it is also possible to see whether the task assigned to a specific object was successful or not.

For example, for a task that instructs the admin to update certain servers regularly, it is possible to document that Server1 and Server2 have received the update, but Server3 has not, but the task itself has been performed. Of course, a short explanation can be given.
The objects and their status appear in the overview of the completed task. The same applies to the "Workflow" category for each individual object.

This data can be evaluated using the Report Manager.

Auto-Fill Name

With the "Auto-Fill Name" extension, it is possible to predefine designations and, for example, to provide them with a counter. Depending on the object type, this ensures that both the name and the current counter of an object are managed correctly. It is therefore an ideal supplement to validation.

Example: IP-telephone type objects follow the naming scheme "IP-Tel-XYZ". If the last telephone stored in i-doit is called "IP-Tel-023", the next created object will be called "IP-Tel-024" - the user does not have to remember the name of the newest object. 

 

 

 

Disable Discription

In a standard configuration, i-doit offers a description field in each category. In many cases, however, it is sufficient to fill the description only in the category "General" if you want to describe the object more precisely. To increase the clarity, this add-on hides all other description fields. On the overview pages of the objects, the important information thus finds a little more space.

Extended Search

With the help of Extended Search, object links can be created faster. i-doit offers a quick search for the object title in the link fields in addition to the path via the object browser. In the Extended Search configuration, you can define further attributes for the search. For example, the serial number from the "Model" category.

Widget "My Objects"

The "My Objects" widget displays the objects on the dashboard where the logged in user is stored as a contact. This gives users very fast access to their objects.

Services - Consulting

CSV-Import

The CSV import is in many cases the first step when it comes to the initial filling of the CMDB. Unfortunately, the underlying Excel sheets often contain minor slip-ups. A Perl script developed by us is able to clean up one or the other uncleanness within the CSV. This ensures that objects are not unwantedly created more than once during the import or that attributes are filled in different spellings.

For example, if the operating system is maintained in a list of servers in a column, it often happens that different spellings have become established over time ("Win 2008" and "Windows 2008"). In the CSV this does not cause any problems and everyone knows what is meant. For the import, however, these would be two different operating systems, so two objects would also be created. Both spellings would have to be taken into account in an evaluation.

By small adjustments this script can be individually adapted, so that the quality of a CSV increases clearly.

In addition, this script can process existing information in an i-doit-compliant manner. This is particularly interesting if (automatically) data is to be updated using the controller via the CSV importer and the underlying CSV was automatically exported from another tool.

VM-Import-Helper

VMware is used as a virtualization solution in many environments. With the help of a script, the current data can be read from the vSphere database and the CDMB can be filled via the i-doit CSV import. This requires read access to the (PostgreSQL) database. Of course you can define which fields are to be read for the i-doit import. Thus, the current data of the virtual servers are also conveniently available in i-doit.

Own reports.

With the help of the Report Manager, you can quickly and easily create your own evaluations in the i-doit interface. However, in some cases the report manager reaches its limits. For these cases, i-doit offers the SQL editor. However, this requires a good knowledge of the database structure.
We use our many years of experience to create the required reports.

 

 

ITSM-Connector

i-doit - CMDB

i-doit is part of the ITSM connector; as a central CMDB all data are provided for all systems here.

ITSM-Connector

i-doit open

i-doit pro

CMDB / Configuration Management Database

i-doit

Was ist i-doit?

Die Anwendung i-doit ist eine ITIL-konforme Plattform für die Dokumentation von IT und enthält das Know-How und die Erfahrung aus einer über 15-jährigen Berater- und Technikpraxis im hochkarätigen Projektumfeld. In Verbindung mit SNAG-View und OTRS erhalten Sie ein Rundum-sorglos-Paket, das (fast) keine Wünsche offen lässt.

i-doit ist mehr als eine Datenbank der eingepflegten Objekte. Durch Verknüpfungen der angelegten Objekte untereinander wird der CMDB-Charakter gewährleistet. Somit stehen sehr schnell alle relevanten Informationen zu einem Objekt an zentraler Stelle zur Verfügung.

Die Partnerschaft

Die strategische Partnerschaft zwischen der Sector Nord AG und der synetics GmbH auf der anderen Seite ist besiegelt.

Die synetics GmbH ist Spezialist für Planung, Implementierung und Wartung adaptiver Infrastrukturlösungen.
Seit 2004 beschäftigt sich das Unternehmen u.a. mit der Entwicklung quelloffener Software und bietet ein entsprechendes Portfolio an Support- und Wartungsleistungen an.

Die Anwendung i-doit ist eine ITIL-basierte Plattform für die Dokumentation von IT und enthält das Know-How und die Erfahrung aus einer über 15-jährigen Berater- und Technikpraxis im hochkarätigen Projektumfeld.

Dokumentation

Mit der Installation bringt i-doit schon einige gängige Objekttypen mit passenden Attributen mit. Somit kann sofort mit der Befüllung der CMDB begonnen werden. Selbstverständlich können aber auch eigene Objekttypen und Attribute erstellt werden.

Beispiele für Kategorien

IT-Infrastruktur

Server, Switches, Router, Clients, Drucker, IP-Telefone...

Software

Anwendungen, Betriebssysteme...

Lizenzen

Einzel-, Volumenlizenzen...

Dokumente

Verträge, Handbücher, Pläne ...

Netzwerke

IPv4, IPv6 ...

virtuelle Umgebungen

VMware, Server ...

komplexe IT-Strukturen

Cluster, Datenbanken, SAN ...

Gebäude

Bürogebäude, Arbeitsplätze, Produktionsstätten...

Screenshots

Dashboard
Rackansicht
CDMB-Explorer
Report

Vorteile von i-doit

einfaches Handling

 

flexibel und erweiterbar

 

webbasiert

 

einfache Installation

 

fein granulares Rechtesystem

 

Open-Source

 

 

Unsere i-doit Module

Extended Workflow

Mit unserer Erweiterung "Extended Workflow" des i-doit Standard-Workflow-Moduls ist es möglich, den Erfolg oder Misserfolg eines zugewiesenen Tasks zu dokumentieren. Im Standard wird lediglich dokumentiert, "dass etwas gemacht wurde". Unsere Erweiterung sorgt dafür, dass zusätzlich noch ersichtlich wird, ob die zugewiesene Aufgabe an einem konkreten Objekt erfolgreich war oder nicht.

So kann beispielsweise bei einer Aufgabe, die den Admin anweist, bestimmte Server regelmäßig upzudaten, dokumentiert werden, dass Server1 und Server2 das Update erhalten haben, Server3 jedoch nicht - die Aufgabe an sich wurde aber durchgeführt. Selbstverständlich kann eine kurze Begründung angegeben werden.
In der Übersicht des abgeschlossenen Tasks erscheinen die Objekte und deren Status. Ebenso in der Kategorie "Workflow" bei jedem einzelnen Objekt.

Diese Daten können mit Hilfe des Reportmanagers ausgewertet werden.

Auto-Fill Name

Mit der Erweiterung "Auto-Fill Name" ist es möglich, Bezeichnungen vorzudefinieren und beispielsweise mit einem Counter zu versehen. Abhängig vom Objekttyp wird so sichergestellt, dass sowohl Name als auch der aktuelle Zähler eines Objekts korrekt geführt werden. Es handelt sich also um eine ideale Ergänzung zur Validierung.

Beispiel: Objekte vom Typ IP-Telefon folgen dem Namensschema „IP-Tel-XYZ“. Wenn das letzte in i-doit hinterlegte Telefon „IP-Tel-023“ heißt, wird das nächste angelegte Objekt „IP-Tel-024“ heißen – der Anwender muss sich also nicht den Namen des neuesten Objekts merken. 

 

 

 

Disable Discription

In einer Standardkonfiguration bietet i-doit in jeder Kategorie ein Beschreibungsfeld an. In vielen Fällen reicht es allerdings aus, die Beschreibung nur in der Kategorie "Allgemein" zu füllen, wenn es darum geht, das Objekt genauer zu beschreiben. Um die Übersichtlichkeit zu erhöhen blendet dieses AddOn alle anderen Beschreibungsfelder aus. Auf den Übersichtsseiten der Objekte finden die wichtigen Informationen somit etwas mehr Platz.

Extended Search

Mit Hilfe der Extended Search lassen sich Objektverknüpfungen schneller erstellen. i-doit bietet im Standard - neben den Weg über den Objektbrowser - eine Schnellsuche nach dem Objekttitel in den Verknüpfungsfeldern. In der Konfiguration der Extended Search können weitere Attribute fesgelegt werden, nach denen gesucht werden soll. Beispielsweise die Seriennummer aus der Kategorie "Modell".

Widget "Meine Objekte"

Das Widget "Meine Objekte" zeigt die Objekte auf dem Dashboard an, wo der angemeldete User als Kontakt hinterlegt ist. Somit haben die Benutzer sehr schnellen Zugriff auf ihre Objekte.

Dienstleistungen

CSV-Import

Der CSV-Import ist in sehr vielen Fällen der erste Schritt, wenn es um die initiale Befüllung der CMDB geht. Leider schleichen sich in den zugrundeliegenden Excelsheets häufig kleine Flüchtigkeitsfehler ein. Ein von uns entwickeltes Perlskript ist in der Lage, die eine oder andere Unsauberkeit innerhalb der CSV zu bereinigen. Es wird dadurch sichergestellt, dass beim Import nicht unerwünscht mehrfach Objekte angelegt werden oder Attribute in unterschiedlichen Schreibweisen befüllt werden.

Wenn bspw. in einer Liste von Servern in einer Spalte das Betriebssystem gepflegt ist, kommt es nicht selten vor, dass sich im Laufe der Zeit unterschiedliche Schreibweisen etabliert haben ("Win 2008" und "Windows 2008"). In der CSV macht dies natürlich keine Probleme und jeder weiß, was gemeint ist. Für den Import wären dies allerdings zwei unterschiedliche Betriebssysteme, also würden auch zwei Objekte angelegt werden. Beide Schreibweisen müssten bei einer Auswertung berücksichtigt werden.

Durch kleine Anpassungen kann dieses Skript individuell angepasst werden, sodass die Qualität einer CSV deutlich zunimmt.

Außerdem kann dieses Skript bestehende Informationen i-doit-konform aufbereiten. Dies ist insbesondere dann interessant, wenn (automatisch) mit Hilfe des Controllers über den CSV-Importer Daten aktualisert werden sollen und die zugrunde liegende CSV automatisch aus einem weiteren Tool exportiert wurde.

VM-Import-Helper

In vielen Umgebungen kommt VMware als Virtualisierungslösung zum Einsatz. Mit Hilfe eines Skripts lassen sich zeitgesteuert die aktuellen Daten aus der vSphere Datenbank auslesen und über den i-doit CSV-Import die CDMB befüllen. Dazu wird lesender Zugriff auf die (PostgreSQL-)Datenbank benötigt. Natürlich kann festgelegt werden, welche Felder für den i-doit Import ausgelesen werden sollen. Somit stehen die aktuellen Daten der virtuellen Server auch bequem in i-doit zur Verfügung.

Eigene Reports

Mit Hilfe des Reportmanagers lassen sich in der i-doit Oberfläche schnell und einfach eigene Auswertungen erstellen. Allerdings stößt der Reportmanager in einigen Fällen an seine Grenzen. Für diese Fälle bietet i-doit den SQL-Editor an. Dies setzt allerdings gute Kenntnisse der Datenbankstruktur voraus.
Unsere langjährigen Erfahrungen nutzen wir, um die geforderten Reports zu erstellen.

 

 

ITSM-Connector

i-doit - CMDB

i-doit ist Teil des ITSM-Connectors, als zentrale CMDB werden sämtliche Daten für alle Systeme hier bereitgestellt.

ITSM-Connector

i-doit open

i-doit pro